Work Health & Safety

Local Administrators

NSW, QLD, ACT, NT, SA, TAS and the Commonwealth of Australia recently introduced the new harmonised work health and safety laws. Victoria and Western Australia are yet to announce official introduction dates.

The new laws further enhance the significance of securing the health and safety of workers and workplaces and aims to provide all working Australians with the same level of protection despite locality.

The Work Health and Safety Act 2011 is a legislative document relating to work health and safety. The main objective is to provide for a balanced and nationally consistent framework to secure the health and safety of workers and workplaces.

The Work Health and Safety (WHS) Regulations 2011 is a legislative instrument that varies according to time, place or circumstance. The regulations outline work health and safety requirements by environment, operation and duty / task being carried out. In particular, the Regulations outline a number of areas including:

  • Representation and Participation
  • General Risk and Workplace Management
  • Hazardous Work (falls, noise, confined space, manual tasks)
  • Plants and Structures (control of risk, guarding, emergency stop, scaffolds)
  • Construction Work
  • Hazardous Chemicals
  • Asbestos
  • Major Hazard Facilities

The Commonwealth, States and Territories are responsible for regulating and enforcing work health and safety laws in their jurisdictions.

Throughout Australia various Work Health and Safety requirements across a number of industries are constantly being refined to ensure our national workforce is protected in the work environment. For precise jurisdictional requirements we recommend that you contact your Local Administrators